The Club Cleaner

11/08/2010

(Photo Source)

This is the story of how I got it, and how I got rid of it.

During the past summer, I attended golfing event.  I had never been golfing before, and I found the experience very interesting.

I also quickly found out that not only does it cost an arm and a leg to get into a golfing facility, it equipment also costs a lot.  Golf clubs and golf shoes are not cheap.  For this event, I just wore my running shoes, and borrowed clubs from my friend.

At a 50/50 charity raffle, I won a set of golf cleaners!

Woopee!  But I had already made the decision that golfing wasn’t for me (I think it’s a wasteful sport, but we’ll save that for another post).  I knew that I had to get rid of them on the spot before they came home with me.    I asked one of the guys if they wanted it since I had no use for it.  He was super happy, and I got to leave with one less item to clutter my place!

How do you get rid of freebies that you may not need or want?

5 Responses to “The Club Cleaner”

  1. xuan Says:

    I prefer to give my unwanted things (which i ensure that they are in good or usable condition) away to my friends/ family members who can have better uses of it. I would think carefully about whom to give, or in the end i may just donate to the salvation army.

    For example, I have a dozen of old autographed cds to give away recently. I posted a facebook post asking for any takers for my cds, and several people posted that they would want them since they are free. i thought about it, and decided to donate to salvation army thrift stores, because i think that the latter will have better use for them (charity purposes to collect money). so there are ways which you can clear your things =D

  2. Turling Says:

    Err…what are golf cleaners?


  3. Pretty much the same way; I look around and see who looked dissapointed at not having won and give it to them. If no one wants it, I drop it in the Goodwill drop box on my way home.


  4. Hey AM!

    With regards to freebies, I usually hand them over to my mom. She always knows someone who may know someone else that might need them. And if she actually can’t find anyone within 5 miles that she can physically give it to, she’ll send it to Haiti.

    But I must confess, freebies usually sit a while in my presence before I even think of giving them away.


  5. I refuse all freebies now. It used to be a big issue for me. Both me and my honey worked in the supplements industry and were constantly getting free products. They were overtaking us! Eliminating them completely has been wonderful.

    Cheers,
    Tanja


Leave a comment