Simple Joys: Summer

08/23/2010

(Photo source)

Summers are so short in Canada, you really have to savour every second of it.

It’s a cycle that I’ve come to love and hate, and love again.

As the days get longer and longer, warmer and warmer, my imagination just goes wild with all the things I want to do.  It’s lovely to walk outside at 10 o’clock and still see sunlight.  And yet, the days get shorter and shorter, and fall starts to slowly sneak in.  Dusk is at 9 o’clock instead of 10.   The evenings are nippier.

But for now, I will just try to squeeze out every last drop (despite the crazy work weeks).

My favourite summer activities include: hitting the volleyball court, drinks/food on a patio, long walks in the city, ice cream and freezies, wearing dresses and sandals, and picnics.

My favourite summer memory, is going to the park when I was little.  My mom would pack my sisters, and I, and the 4 kids she babysat (she was a stay-at-home mom/babysitter/super mom), and some sandwiches for a day at the park.  We’d wade in the splash pool, play house at the park, feed the geese and visit the animal farm.

What are your favourite activities and memories about summer?

2 Responses to “Simple Joys: Summer”

  1. Annie Says:

    My favorite memories of summer are sitting on the porch with my Dad. I would wonder off on occasion to play with the pets or stuff, but Dad and I would talk about everything on those long summer days. I miss him.


  2. Annie – I am sorry for your loss, but it sounds like you and your dad had good memories together. Thank you for sharing.


Leave a Reply

