Work Life Balance

08/14/2010

(Photo Source)

Is there really such a thing?

At times of craziness in the office (such has been the last two months), and it always creeps up on me, I really question this concept, and how people achieve it.  This may sound crazy, but the more I try to achieve this balance, the more I stressed I feel.  I feel like I’m catching up to relax.

Take this week, for example.

Monday – I worked 9 – 6, and then I have volleyball at 6:30 – 8:30pm.  After volleyball, the bf and I head home and watch an episode of our latest obsession – The West Wing.

Tuesday – I worked 9 – 7 and then I have dinner with a girlfriend.  Roll in at 10:30pm, talk to the bf and pass out.

Wednesday – I worked 9 – 6, then come home to make dinner and take an evening stroll.

Thursday – I will be working 9 – very late? and probably pass out when I get home.

Friday – Working 8 – noon (hopefully) and heading out for an afternoon with the ladies of my office to enjoy summer.

Now, it doesn’t sound so bad.  Really.  But I just feel so pooped at the end of the week.

I’m not sure how to go about simplifying this schedule/life style that I have.  Do I work less?  Do I schedule less things?  I already feel like I don’t see my friends enough, and I love playing volleyball, every week – despite the arduous task of leaving work on time to make it there.

How do you deal with your work life balance?  What are some of the tricks or words of wisdom that you have learned over the years?  I would love to hear your thoughts and suggestions on this topic 🙂

Note: BF was away on business for much of this year, and now that he’s back (for an extended amount of time), I do spend a lot of my spare time with him, as well.  So maybe I need to work on that balance, as well. 😛

8 Responses to “Work Life Balance”

  1. eemusings Says:

    I’m the same. I can handle “doing” one or two things during the week, but no more. The rest of the time I need for ME – cleaning, cooking, grocery shopping, reading, blogging, playing guitar, watching TV.

    BF just got a new job and our schedules mean we’ll hardly see each other at all, so…yeah. It’ll be a work in progress.

  2. Annie Says:

    I schedule less, starting with the most important and going from there. This is why I chat with my friends primarily via email, Facebook and Yahoo anymore. I see them on occasion but this way I can keep close with them in a way that enables me to still do what is important and yet have time with me.


  3. eemusings – Agreed. One time I had 3 things scheduled, and I was super pooped. Congrats on the BF landing a job! That`s great news! 🙂

    Annie – That`s a good idea. But I love seeing my friends in person and sitting down for coffee or dinner. Though I do squeeze in with phone calls when I get too busy.


  4. I echo your sentiments in this post…I feel so pooped at the end of every week! I get to work around 8 or 8:30 and lately have been staying til 6 or 7! Not like there’s such thing as overtime either. Eventually, after I start a family, I’d love to either get a 9 to 5 job or work for myself. Working for yourself I feel is the best way to manage work life balance : )


  5. PAG – Exactly. No such thing as over time here, either. I am already dreaming about working less and enjoying life more. I can’t wait until I r 40 ueetire. I can’t imagine this for another 40 years…. yikes!

  6. Young Mogul Says:

    Well, my current job requires extremely long hours in the summer, sporadic hours during the academic year and at least one day of work on the first Saturday of the month. All of this and I get the absolute joy of working with smart mouth teens.

    I’m currently looking for a new job….


  7. Young Mogul – My job requires long hours in the summers, too. And our summers in Canada are oh-so-short! GL with the job search!


  8. […] Minimalist aspires to work-life balance but finds that achieving it is harder than it […]


Leave a Reply

