MIA Update

08/04/2010

I have been MIA for the last little while.  Work and life have been super busy and I have been completely swept away from the blog.  Even my pre-planned blog posts have been all used up!  I have been keeping up with most of your blogs – gotta love Google Reader – though I haven’t been commenting!

Aside from business of life, I’ve also been lacking on inspiration for posts.  I feel as if I am boring my readers with my random attempts to pursue a minimalistic lifestyle.  Also, my room is a complete mess (due to my not being at home to clean – only at home to sleep and create mess!), and I felt guilty.  Aren’t minimalists not supposed to have stuff to make a mess?!

Me = fail.

Having said that, I am planning to visit the local Goodwill store tomorrow afternoon to drop off my donation stuff.  I am going to grab some garbage bags from my parents’ place and then transfer the items from their current location in my Rubbermaid bin to different bags.  I have a bunch of clothes that I no longer wear, and some stuffed animals that are only collecting dust.  I should probably go through my bookshelf, as well, but we’ll save that for another day.

One of my current goals now, is to get rid of the rolling 3-drawer storage container in my washroom.  I’m a little embarrassed of how much stuff I still have in my washroom, despite cleaning in out a few times.  I promise to take a picture of all my toiletries after this cleaning session.  I plan on further decluttering my make up bag(s).  Even though I don’t wear a lot of make up, I have accumulated quite a bit over the years, and most of it is rarely used.

Other than that, aside from work, I have been out and about the city, just soaking in summer.  It’s already August, and this awesome weather will be no more.  Summer is always too short in Toronto!

What have you been up to lately?   How do you keep up with your work-life-blog balance?

5 Responses to “MIA Update”

  1. sunny Says:

    good post. I thought I was the only one (dang.probably not) who had weeks where things go so crazy you are just home to sleep and maybe eat..maybe not.

    My life comes first – and it’s a busy one. I blog when I run across something I have to share… (if it’s images for my Pretty Blog)…or if something funny happens…..or if one of my nephews does The Cutest Thing Ever!

    I don’t make blogging a priority…. so that when I do post, it hopefully is worth reading/looking at. Then again… it could be the silliest thing on earth.

    What was the question? Oh… work/life/blog balance. My job doesn’t require a lot of time out of the office… so I work 40 or 50 hours a week then leave work behind to live a full life outside of work. But I also need solitude which the blogging world helps with. I can get solitude at home but instantly connect with blog friends worldwide. I love you, Internet!

  2. Hasina Says:

    Yay for decluttering! Keep us posted!

  3. Jersey Mom Says:

    Don’t be too hard on yourself. I’ve been slacking off re my blog as well. It’s summer time, the weather is nice, my kids are at home most of the time demanding my attention, and lots of other stuff going on. I see my routine going back to normal possibly in the middle of Sept when the kids go back to school.


  4. Sunny – Blogging is definitely therapeutic for me and a way to keep my goals of becoming a minimalist in check. I’m glad you have such a balance!

    Hasina – Feels great! 🙂

    Jersey Mom – Thanks for your kind words. It is so much easier to enjoy summer outdoors than in front of my computer 😉 Looking forward to reading more of your posts in September!

  5. Young Mogul Says:

    We all get a little distracted and off track sometimes. Glad you’re back!


Leave a Reply

