Simple Joys: A Good Book

07/05/2010

(source)

There’s nothing more relaxing than curling up with a good book (and a cup of tea!).

I used to pretend I was Nancy Drew or Anne Shirley when I was little.  When I read, I felt transported to an alternate world, where I was the heroine.  I would be able to do bold things that I couldn’t do in my normal life.

Now, I read for both education and enjoyment.  Who says you can’t have both at the same time.  🙂  One my favourite contemporary authors is Rohinton Mistry.  His book, A Fine Balance is such a beautiful and yet melancholy read.

What are some of your current favourite authors?  Or authors of your childhood?

4 Responses to “Simple Joys: A Good Book”

  1. Young Mogul Says:

    Reading is one of my all-time favorite pleasures! Most of my reading, these days, is Minimalism and Finance.

  2. Annie Says:

    When I was a kid I loved Walter Farley books–especially the Black Stallion series!

    As an adult I tend to read the Dexter series, Patricia Cornwell, computer books and all of the simplicity/minimalist books I can get my hands on.

    Books are truly a wonderful adventure!

  3. Jersey Mom Says:

    Reading novels do transport me to another place and time. I love mysteries, historical, and fantasy. Some of my favorite series are The Hobbit and Harry Potter. =)


  4. Young Mogul – I’ve been reading blogs and books on finance, though only blogs on minimalism.

    Annie – I haven’t read the Black Stallion, though I enjoyed Black Beauty. I love animal books!

    Jersey Mom – Harry Potter is so awesome. I have read The Hobbit, yet – must add that to the to-read list.


Leave a Reply

