Simple Joys: Sleeping

06/21/2010

(source)

I love sleeping.

I get so much joy of having a good night’s rest.  It’s like my coffee, except, without.

Even though I love my bed.  It’s super comfy.  I am one of those people who can fall asleep almost anywhere, anytime.  It’s a gift, really.

I usually get 8 hours a night.  On weekends, I can sleep up to 10 hours.  I prefer to get to bed early, and not sleep in.  For some reason, getting to bed late and waking up late doesn’t have the same “zing” of joy to it.

[Sidebar: When I caught my red-eye flight from Venezuela back into Toronto (got in a 7:00am in the morning!), I slept the entire way (in my coach seat).  I was well rested and was in the office at 9:15am (after I went home to shower).]

Are you an easy sleeper?  Early riser? 8-hour sleeper? Night owl?

6 Responses to “Simple Joys: Sleeping”

  1. Jersey Mom Says:

    Getting enough sleep really is important for our body to function well. Unlike you, I cannot sleep unless I’m on a bed (doesn’t have to be my bed but it has to be a bed). =( Being able to fall asleep just about anywhere really is a gift!

  2. Young Mogul Says:

    I am a better sleeper now than I was before. For years I had an undiagnosed thyroid condition that caused insomnia. Nights were always frustrating for me. That has changed now, but I have never been one who could sleep for a long time; 6 hours is the max that I can sleep. If I fall asleep early at night, I am guaranteed to be up in the middle of the night.


  3. Jersey Mom – I can be really cranky when I don’t get enough sleep.

    Young Mogul – Yikes. I remember certain nights when I would have a hard time falling asleep, and I can barely function the next day. Funny thing is, if I go to sleep early, I don’t necessarily wake up earlier – just normal time.

  4. Annie Says:

    I love sleep. If I let myself I would be another Garfield and sleep all of the time. Other than the kids the only thing I have really lost some serious sleep over is computer stuff. I, um, get to tinkering or installing or building and the next thing it’s dawn. Bad for that.

    I used to be bad for losing track of time with books but not anymore. Now it is just computers (or writing about them). Other than that I prefer sleep. 🙂

  5. Simplegal Says:

    Hi I have a question what type of bed do you have? Seeing that’s it’s a futon I think? I’m totally never buying a bed again not because I can’t afford one just I’d rather spend the money on something else like feeding the homeless or you know. Thanks….


  6. SimpleGal – I have a double sized bed with a mattress and box spring. I got this bed before I decided to become a minimalist, but I still love it. It is super comfortable, and since I don’t move around a lot, I don’t mind having a bed.

    I haven’t slept on Futon long term, but definitely test it out to make sure that it’s comfortable for you. It’s great that you are so giving with your money to people who are less fortunate. 🙂


Leave a Reply

