Non-Minimalistic Salads

05/19/2010

(source)

I love salads!  I love how I can put anything in them, and toss it with salad dressing, and I have a party in my mouth 🙂  Sorry, I don’t make minimalistic salads, I like to pack them with lots of yummy stuff 😉

This was not always the case for me.

Coming from an Asian background, we hardly ever had salads at home growing.  The little “western” salads we did have were bland and consisted of iceberg lettuce, tomatoes, cucumbers with Kraft French dressing.

I have re-discovered salads living with my sister (who is an amazing cook!), and cooking with BF (who is also a really good cook!).  I am so lucky to discover that salads can be interesting, filling, and of course, very healthy.

Here I’d like to share my original pear and chick pea salad recipe.  I was inspired from this recipe I found, but I changed it so much, that I don’t think it has too much resemblance to the original taste.

Pear and chickpea salad:

2 pears
1 avocado
2 tomatoes
1 handful of walnuts (lightly toasted)
1 half small onion finely chopped
1 -30oz can of chick  peas (rinsed and drained)

Cut up the pears, avocado and tomatoes into 1″ pieces the, and mix with all the ingredients.

Prepare dressing and drizzle over.

Dressing:

1 squirt of honey mustard
1 squirt of bbq sauce ( I had garlic flavoured)
1 lemon juiced
olive oil
salt & pepper

Mine looked like this and tasted devine!

I also made some broccoli soup 🙂

I got a little excited and took pictures before the steam had a chance to cool off 🙂

I followed the recipe here (roughly) and also added tomatoes.  As you can see, I have a hard time following recipes 🙂

Do you like salads?  What’s your favourite salad recipe?

5 Responses to “Non-Minimalistic Salads”

  1. Yessi Says:

    I don’t like salad too much.. but i like potato salad or salmon salad. hehehehe. 😉

  2. Jersey Mom Says:

    Delicious! Thanks for the recipe.
    I like making this spiral pasta with ripe tomatoes, mozzarella cheese, sun-dried tomatoes, olives, olive oil, and some herbs.


  3. @Yessi:
    Thanks for stopping by. Potato and salmon salad both sound good!

    @JerseyMom:
    Yumm… Pasta salads are always so satisfying 🙂

  4. eemusings Says:

    Potato salad! (My favourite veggie).

    Yeah, growing up we never ate salads. The only western food we ever ate was stuff like spag bol. It was always such a treat to go out to eat at, say, Valentines, or a steak place with a salad bar (my mum had a penchant for steaks.)


Leave a Reply

