My Little Trinkets Confession

05/04/2010

I have a confession.

I LOVE it when BF brings me back little trinkets from his travels 😀

BF travels a lot for business, and whenever he comes back from another city or country, he’s gotten into the habit of bringing me back a stuffed animal or other little trinket from that place.

It started with the Paddington Bear from London, England.  Then, a little Koala bear from Sydney, Australia.  Then MukMuk, the marmot from the 2010 Vancouver Olympic games.  And the latest, a little Havana flip flop magnet and Corporal Flapjack Jr. when he came back from Brasil.

I know.  I know. So NOT minimalism.

It’s not so much that I really like the gifts, I just feel super special – it’s almost like “proof” that he was thinking of me.  Silly, right?  Right? !

The minimalist part of me needs to realize that this is silly, and that I am just piling up “stuff” for a sentimental reason.

I’m kinda at a loss of what to do about this dilemma – I feel so special when I get a little gift 😛

Maybe I could suggest to BF to bring me back a postcard with a little message.  I love postcards 🙂

I guess what I should be focusing on is this post isn’t the trinkets.  But about when I look forward to each time with BF coming.  And the best part about BF coming home – is BF 🙂

When I think about it like that, I don’t really have a need for trinkets!

What are your thoughts on this topic?  Do you like gifts/trinkets?

8 Responses to “My Little Trinkets Confession”

  1. Miss Guimba Says:

    Oh, this blog entry is so cute. You’re right about feeling special. My hubby, the minimalist that he is, doesn’t give me little trinkets. Gives me useful things instead. You’re right, though, that knowing he’s thinking of you is better than anything else. =)


  2. Hah! First of all, no matter what your ideals are–minimalist, or whatnot, you’re always going to fall short of perfect. This seems like an OK exception to me.

    Then again, if you feel bogged down by the trinkets, postcards might be just the thing–you can keep them in a shoebox or something–kind of like a record of his travels. Fun.

  3. Jersey Mom Says:

    How sweet! Whenever my husband comes home from a conference, he’d bring a little something (usually a snow globe) from the city he went to for the kids. And because he knows I love food, he usually brings some locally made food for me to try. =)


  4. @Miss Guimba:
    I asked BF if he could put his thought of me in a bubble and bring that back…. 🙂

    @Simple in France:
    Thanks 🙂 I don’t feel bogged down quite, yet. But I am leaning more towards the postcard idea.

    @Jersey Mom:
    Yummm. BF is good at bringing back chocolates. He sent a box from Belgium, once. I wanted to eat it forever…. 🙂

  5. SassyGirl Says:

    I would definitely feel special! My father used to do that for me too, so now I’m used to buying gifts for my parents when I’m on a trip, even if it’s not that exotic. I think the gesture is more important than anything.


  6. Unless he doesn’t like traveling, your BF is so lucky to be visiting so many amazing places. Did you ever think about joining him on one of those trips?

    I love little gifts. I’d rather get a bunch of little gifts than wait for one big gift.

    But I hear you on the anti-minimalism. I have an entire cabinet filled with stuff that BF has given me over the past 4 years. I’m hoping to take bits and pieces of it and put it in a book to make a memento of our relationship. Not only will it be fun, but I’m sure it will clear up some extra space for my winter clothes. LOL.


  7. @SassyGirl:
    I think you’re right, it’s the thoughtful gesture that makes me feel so special 🙂

    @Investing Newbie:
    BF really likes to travel, and he is very lucky to be able to visit so many new places.

    I visited BF last year when he was in Europe, and we toured Oslo and Paris. This year, neither BF or I would be able to take more than a few days off. With travel time, leaves very little relaxing time.


  8. […] My Little Trinkets Confession […]


Leave a Reply

