Giving Stuff Away

04/21/2010

A couple weeks ago, I decided to do another purge on my bathroom since I felt super invigorated last time I did this.

(source)

This time I was going to set the bar higher.  Anything that I think I haven’t used in the last 6 months goes.

I got rid of all my nail polish but one (in Holiday Red!).

I got rid of all my perfume with the exception of this Jo Malone (from my trip to Paris last year with BF) and two perfume oils I got when traveling in Egypt (in Gardenia and Lotus).

I got rid of all my fragrant body lotion and left myself with a basic Vaseline.

I got rid of my extra non SLS shampoo and conditioner.

I got rid of the make up that I wore a Christmas party that one time to match my green dress.

I got rid of extra make up gift bag and goodies that relatives had gifted / donated to me.

I didn’t toss most of these out.  (Those perfumes are good stuff, but I just don’t use it.  Most of them were gifts.)

So, I brought them to work and asked if any of the girls wanted them.

I had some good grub ;):

  • The Body Shop
  • Bath and Body Works
  • Tresor by Lancome
  • Blue by Ralph Lauren

The girls loved it and  I was super happy that all my neglected belongings now have new homes.  BF commented that no wonder I’m so popular, I give out free grub 😉

My next mission:  Get rid of that teeny tiny bottle of suppose-to-make-my-hair-produce-less-oil thingy that I paid $26 for at the salon(!).  It didn’t really work on me.  I’m not sure who I could give that to, and it would be a waste to toss it 😦

Update: This is it – it’s called Oil Detox Leave in Treatment by Redken (I Googled it after I wrote this…)

What are different ways that you get rid of your clutter without just tossing things?  How do you think I should part with my next mission item?

8 Responses to “Giving Stuff Away”

  1. Miss Guimba Says:

    I make it a point never to throw anything out that can be useful, too. I think it’s wasteful to do that. I’m thinking of giving my stuff away to anyone who reads my blog, but I am wondering if it’s okay for them to pay for the shipping.

  2. Jersey Mom Says:

    I like how your coworkers can enjoy things that you no longer need.

    Usually it’s just kids’ clothes, shoes, and toys that they grow out of. Sometimes I give it to friends who have smaller boys or I just donate it if I can’t find anyone to take it.

    I hardly ever buy perfume.. the ones I have were given to me by my husband (Xmas present) and mom. =)

  3. sunny Says:

    I too have a difficult time just tossing out useful things. I’ve done giveaways as well! I have a cute box near my entryway that has items that are good enough for a giveaway. Then I’ll either ask guests (who are good friends) if they want anything or I’ll take the box to church where I work with teens, and they will take anything! My latest batch is a pile of nail polishes that just don’t work for me. Those were spoken for immediately!

    Another giveaway I’ll do is either on my blog or by email/facebook to friends. I’ll list out the books I’m done with and friends claim them one by one. Sometimes I’ll pay for the shipping for friends or ask them to pay for shipping (it’s logical and cheaper than the cost of the book!).

    That reminds me, I have a stack of books to take to to my church office – to see if any staff wants them. They’re books I’ve saved because I “should read them one day” but I have not.

    So I’ve done giveaways and donations to thrift stores but sometimes if it’s a magazine – I have to remember that thousands of those issues were printed and they can’t all find homes. So I’ll recycle those.

    Which reminds me…my thrift store accepts (and re-sells) magazines..but I’ve also dropped some off at laundromats and various waiting rooms. People always want something to read there!


  4. @Miss Guimba:
    I was actually wondering the same thing about shipping. I would certainly rather give my stuff away than to throw it out. But I don’t want to pay to give my stuff away. That just seems silly.

    @Jersey Mom:
    I had lots of hand me downs as a kid, and I still love them as an adult. I know that my parents hate throwing things out – even if we are donating it to charity.

    @Sunny:
    That’s such a great idea.

    I just keep a box with everything in it. At the end of the year, my sisters and I get together to swap clothes. Or I bring the things to a local Goodwill.

  5. Hasina Says:

    What a great idea!

    I usually bring the things I no longer need to the Salvation Army. A few weeks ago, I decided to follow the advice of a French writer who wrote a book entitled “The Art of Simplicity” (that’s my translation… I don’t know if the book is available in English): use a multi-purpose oil (Jojoba oil) to hydrate my hair and skin, for massages and even as a make-up remover. It’s the absolute minimalist beauty product.


    • That sounds like a great product – and I’m thinking that will contain less chemicals, too. I’ll have to look into it (and also that book, too!).

      • Hasina Says:

        I forgot to mention the author’s name: Dominique Loreau.
        We tend to forget that companies in the beauty industry mostly sell hope — because let’s face it… I have yet to see a product that actually makes miracles happen 🙂


  6. @ Hasina:
    I’ve tried googling the book (and author) and I can’t seem to come up with a translated version. Do you know if one exists?


Leave a Reply

