Funny Tidbits :)

04/18/2010

Story #1

As some on you know, I’ve been training for my half marathon coming up in May.  It has definitely been my biggest physical challenge.  I wake up at 5:45am on most mornings to train before work.  I don’t have much time after work to train, and I am also a bit tired at the end of the day.

(source)

I volunteer with an organization called YAY, they basically pair up a pair of youths.  I am paired with a really sweet 7-year old and we meet once a week to hang out.  We draw, we read, we go to the park and eat ice cream.  (Hey, I do all these things on my own, anyway :P).

We talk about what time we go to sleep and wake up.  Apparently I go to sleep before her (I try to get into bed by 9:30pm).  When she found out I woke up at 5:45 am, she asked me, “AM, are there people in the world who wake up earlier than you?”

So cute.

Story #2

As I mentioned before, I grew up with parents who were quite frugal.  When I finally learned how to ride my bike without training wheels and my knees kept hitting the handle bars, my parents decided it was time for me to get a “big girl” bike.

(source)

Of course, being my parents, they didn’t want to spend money on too many in between bikes.  Especially for three girls!  So they bought me a bike that I could ride for a really long time.  I kept falling off of it at first, and only one of my feet could only touch the ground when I leaned on one side.

But it worked, because I can still ride that bike today.  And I am 25 years old.

3 Responses to “Funny Tidbits :)”

  1. Jersey Mom Says:

    YAY sounds like a great organization. My 7 year old goes to sleep at 8 PM. =) And as far as I can remember, I’ve only had 1 bike growing up; I recall my parents buying one for me when I was in grade school but I was never into riding it.

  2. JC Says:

    Good luck on your marathon!


  3. @Jersey Mom:
    I like riding my bike around – though I haven’t done so recently. Last time I rode to work, I left it at work for the res of the summer… Operation Bike Ride FAIL 😛

    @JC:
    Thanks! And thanks for stopping by 🙂


Leave a Reply

