Simple Long Weekend :)

04/04/2010

Simple weekends are my favourite type of weekends! 🙂

My favourite weekends involved minimal planning and commitments, but lots of good company and yummy food!

This long weekend, I went home to visit my parents for Friday.  It was also the QuingMing Festival which is the time in the spring where families go out and tend to the graves of their ancestors.  Usually cleaning up after the winter and preparing the grave for summer.  My dad cooked the vegetarian dishes to offer to our ancestors, while my sister and I slept in (teehee).

QuingMing was only in the morning, and in the afternoon, my sister and I took a walk through our neighborhood.  We walked through the parks, and trails and even found a garage sale.  We went to my aunt’s house for dinner (to eat the Quingming food offered earlier), and saw my relatives whom I hadn’t seen in a while.  We played “house” with my little cousins (and probably had as much as they did!), and ate lots of yummy food.  We went for more walks and finally played trivial games until it was time to go home.

The next day, my sister and I set our alarm at 8:30 am to do a long run together before we set off for Waterloo.  At 8:30 am, our alarm went off and we turned it off and gobbled up another hour of sleep!  I love sleeping 😉   After our hearty breakfast of last night’s left overs, we were on the road to visit our middle sister!  I did my undergrad in Waterloo, and the town/city feels super homey to me.

We went grocery shopping for dinner (that night) and my sister stocked up for her last few weeks of school.  Then we took a walk to get ice cream at Marbleslab.  We got a 2 for 1 coupon ;), otherwise, I think it’s a little pricey for ice cream mashed up with stuff!  I got Keylime flavour with a strawberry topping . Yummy.  We sat in the grass and ate our ice cream, giggling as the ice cream melted all over our hands, clothes and hair.

We walked home and made a citrus cupcake snack, before starting on dinner.  Dinner was delicious.  Chicken salad with avocado, tomato and asparagus with a side of roasted potatoes.  Super yummy.  We ate dinner and played Scrabble until it was bedtime.  It was fun girl chatting about our lives.

We chatted about my youngest sister’s crazy roommate.  My middle sister’s thoughts on her final undergraduate exams (yay!).  My obsession with the toy BF got me when he was in Vancouver’s Olympics, MukMuk.  Our obsession with Criminal Minds and how it’s the best show in the world 🙂

This morning, we went for brunch at Cora’s.  I got the delicious Egg Benedict with mushroom and brie 🙂 with lots of fruits.  Yummy.  I wish I could poach eggs.

After brunch, it was time to head home.

And that’s my simple weekend.  Spending time with people who make me happy and I love.  Doing simple things, such as going for a walk, chatting about our lives and cooking a meal together.  These are the things that make me the happiest. This has been a great weekend, and now I feel refreshed for the work week ahead 🙂

How was your weekend?  What are you favourite ways to spend a weekend?

4 Responses to “Simple Long Weekend :)”


  1. What a great weekend! Simple yet lovely. Spending time with my family is what I enjoy as well. My husband and I are not too familiar about what to do during the traditional holidays like QuingMing so we usually don’t do anything. However, we do eat moon cakes during Moon festival and get together with relatives during Chinese New Year. =)


    • Usually for QuingMing we just get together and visit the graves of our ancestors. We usually do a little cleaning around the grave (from the winter), and then offer up some fruits and vegetarian prepared dishes. Then we get together as a family afterwards, and have dinner together.

      We also have get togethers for the Moon Festival, and of course, Chinese New Year. I love all the yummy food we get to eat on these special occasions! 🙂


  2. That weekend sounds amazing. My weekend started off with a lot of sleep. I then went to GMAT prep class. Picked up BF from the airport. We ate lunch at a nice Italian restaurant and then went to watch Clash of the Titans. I then went home to clean my room, but decided to sleep instead. Easter was nice and warm. I went to Mass with my mother, we ate a hearty dinner, and then I went out for ice cream with the BF. I love when unplanned weekends turn out to be perfect.


    • Aren’t they wonderful? It just gets me all refreshed for the next work week – and also wonder what it would be like have financial freedom and do this all the time 🙂


Leave a Reply

