Update: Running with Nature

04/02/2010

Happy Easter weekend, everyone.  Aren’t these bunnies adorable?  Cu-ute!

I’ve been training mostly indoors for my half marathon.  Mainly because it’s easier and I don’t have proper outdoor gear (and I don’t want to go all out and buy them so close to spring!).

Training on the treadmill is much easier than running outside, IMHO.  I can set the incline (1%) and my speed (4.7mph) and I’m off.  Forty-five minutes later, I get a summary of my workout.  Easy peasy.

However, with the weather much nicer, it is now time to start training outdoors more.  I did a 5km run with BF 2 weeks ago, and haven’t really run outside since.  Until this morning!

This morning, I got up bright an early and was at the gym at 6:00 am to meet up with my running buddy.  The trail we too was about 9km, and it took me 1 hour and 10 minutes.  It was hard, and my calves felt really tired afterwards, but I was super proud of myself!

I also ran without headphones and listened to the “world” wake up around me.  We ran through a park, and I ran into all these birds 🙂 !

A blue jay:
A cardinal:

A red-winged black bird:

And I heard a wood pecker.  I imagined he would have looked like this:

I hope that everyone has a good weekend, and for those of us with spring in our backyard – I hope you go out and enjoy it! 🙂

2 Responses to “Update: Running with Nature”

  1. Red Says:

    Hehehe at the Woody the Woodpecker!

    I do all of my exercise indoors because we live on a busy street, and it makes running a little difficult. Plus, I like the option an elliptical machine gives me. Run until I get tired or finish, then hope off! 🙂 Good luck on your training!


  2. Thanks, Red 🙂

    I found it very different switching from training indoors to going outdoors. I’ll save that for another post! 🙂


Leave a Reply

