Time

10/21/2010

(Photo Source)

First of, I’d like to thank everyone for still stopping by my site and leaving words of encouragement, even though my posting as been sporadic, at best. You guys keep me motivated and your kind words are much appreciated.

Even though I have been purging my apartment of physical things, I have not taken as many steps to unclutter my busy schedule. Just this summer, I was overwhelmed with commitments to work, school, volleyball, volunteering, blogging, seeing BF, friends, family, etc. It seemed that I was always heading to something, and it felt like I was always running late. It was exhausting.  No to mention that I wasn’t keeping tabs on my spending, and eating out because I was always in a rush.

I am slowly learning that I cannot do everything, and I certainly cannot do it all at once. There are only so many hours in a day, only so many days in a week, and a limited supply of energy. I needed to learn to prioritize my time.

Fast forward a few months, and I just scored a bunch of e-books on the minimalism from a bunch of great writers. I just finished reading Leo Babuta’s Minimalist Guide, and his chapter on “Simplifying What you Do” really struck a cord with me. Leo says, ” Once you’ve got rid of non-essential commitments, you are free to do the things you’ve always wanted to do.”

These are some changes that I have made:

  • After I finished taking my Course (which was mainly for work), I didn’t take on another part time course
  • After my “Little Sister” whom I volunteered with moved away, I decided not to volunteer with another little girl since it was too hard to juggle while working 50+ hours a week
  • I go home every other weekend to see my family, and spend every other weekend in the City with BF
  • I cook enough lunches for most of the week, and store a few meals in the fridge at work
  • I write blog entries when I feel inspired to do so
  • I write little notes or short e-mails to myself to remind myself so I don’t have to remember everything in my head
  • I keep a normal sleeping schedule – at least 8 hours a night
  • I’ve learned to say “no” to projects that I don’t think I would have the time for or enjoy

I’m still working to unclutter my schedule and make time for myself but things are looking up.

How are you doing?  How do you keep you priorities straight and your schedule unclutters?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

