Half Marathon Trainee

03/30/2010

“If you run, you are a runner.  It doesn’t matter how fast or how far.  It doesn’t matter if today is your first day or if you’ve been running for twenty years.  There is no test to pass, no license to earn,  no membership card to get.  You just run.” — John Bingham


I read the above quote from a great blogger – Single Ma from Fabulous Financials & Fitness.

Having just started to train for my first half marathon this February, I am quite excited to be a “runner.”

Growing up, I have never felt the need to push myself physically.  I didn’t join any sports team, or inter-murals in elementary and all through high school.   Sports wasn’t my thing.  I was always the “smart” one, and I stuck to that because I enjoyed challenging myself intellectually.

100% on a Calculus test – no problemo, but doing a lay up in basketball?  No thanks.

Which feet goes first?  How many steps?  How high?  AND I have to hold a ball and put it through the net?!  That’s way harder than rocket science.

The first time I started getting into sports was in university.  Third year.  The school term after I broke up with my long term ex boyfriend and needed to prove to myself that I could do stuff on my own.  I needed to focus on myself and love me.  And I needed to take my mind off him.

What better way than through physical exercise?  There was no way that I could think about him, and do physical exercise at the same time.  I have pretty poor multi-tasking skills – I like focus on one thing at a time.  Perfect! :)

I started swimming.  I started running.  I started salsa dancing.  I started playing squash.  I started playing soccer (indoor and outdoor – just not at the same time!).  I started playing volleyball.  I started playing dodgeball.  I started taking up Yoga.  I even started belly dancing (well, lessons – I kinda suck at it a lot).

Notice that I said “started”?  That’s cuz I never did that stuff before.

I still play volleyball once a week, but I wanted to push myself harder physically just to prove to myself I can do it!

So, I signed up for a half marathon with my sister.

20km.

I’m not an avid runner, though I do run occasionally – about a few times a year.  I like to set high goals for myself.  It gives me a thrill when I can achieve it.  Kinda like getting my 100% on a Calculus test. ;) Except now it will be making it to the finish line.  Test date will by May 16th.

So far, I have been running at least three times a week, and cross training on off days (cycling or swimming), and resting for two days.  I go to sleep at 10 p.m. every night, and get up at 5:50 a.m. to hit the gym at 6:00 a.m.  As painful as that sounded to me once upon a time (January), that hardest part is really getting up.  It’s the best wake up call and it gives me energy the entire day.

What are you thoughts on exercising?  And what are some of your routines?  Do you like to push yourself physically or do you prefer to challenge yourself mentally?

10 Responses to “Half Marathon Trainee”

  1. Miss Guimba Says:

    I was not into sports myself, but I’ve realized that when you are physically fit, your mood and entire outlook in life changes. I love dancing, but ever since starting out on weights, I loved how strong I felt. Now, I’m looking for other alternatives to dance, but where I’m at, choices are very limited. Good luck on your test! =)


  2. I would love to go to the gym 4 days a week. In HS and college I would go 5 days a week. But now that I live far away from everything, and the gym is no longer free, it really is harder to reach that promise. But I’ve found some discounts here and there, so I’ve somehow managed to exercise a couple of times each month.

    I like to go to the gym and do my own thing. Machines and weights. I don’t really like classes too much, but I do like listening to my iPod and moving at my own pace.


  3. @ Miss Guimba:
    I do feel quite good. I feel a sense of accomplishment and exhilaration after I finish a challenging task. Tomorrow I go for my first 1 hour run! Yikes! :)

    @ Investing Newbie:
    I don’t mind classes, though I do prefer loner sports – like swimming and running. Classes are kind of a no brainer for me when I want to just not think about what I’m doing or what I should do next. That’s the instructor’s role :)

  4. roxetterachel Says:

    I myself was never athletic in school. My report card gleamed with high marks but my physical education score was satisfactory at best. I embarked on a journey to run a half marathon last year, and after many weeks of grueling (but oh-so-freeing!) training, I made it happen. It was the hardest thing I’d ever done physically, but one of the most rewarding challenges I’d ever placed on my plate. Period.

    I think you will find that this is an integral part of your minimalist journey. The joy that comes from running is so simple and so pure. You don’t really need anything other than your body and spirit to keep you going. I wish you the best of luck!

  5. fern Says:

    I, too, was never involved in school sports, which is funny, since I was a real tomboy. My introversion held me back, and there wasn’t really anyone to encourage me to do so.

    the sports I’ve gotten involved with since then…running, kayaking, biking, hiking….are all non-team sports. I like to set personal goals for myself physically.

  6. eemusings Says:

    I’m a total klutz, and totally weak. I do however enjoy running! I’m not quite up to where you are (only run once a week – but I know odds are I probably won’t be able to keep up with more frequent runs).


  7. @fern:
    I never got a lot of encouragement, either. And I was always afraid of making a fool of myself and embarrassed. But now I know that the only way I can get better is if I improve. And it helps to have people who can point you in the right direction :)

    @eemusing:
    I’m pretty good at not pushing myself too hard :), but I do enjoy running and swimming. This is the hardest thing that I’ve done (so far!).

  8. simplelifeinfrance Says:

    Fun! I enjoyed running for a long time, but have foot problems now, so I just quit this year. I don’t think you have to be a specific kind of person or have previously been an athlete to do it. You’re going to have a great time!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

